Pontifical Georgian College

The principal theological seminary of the United Roman-Ruthenian Church


N.b. Programmes subject to change without notice on this page. Postulants and seminarians should consult college administration for official information.
Speed of progress may vary by student. Neither academic degrees nor ordination are guaranteed. Academic degrees and ordination are only conferred
after all qualifications have been met and upon thorough and successful examination by ecclesiastical authorities.


Clerics and laity seeking studies in areas of enquiry related to theology and canon law, such as church history, may pursue studies in Sacred Philosophy. All degree programmes of study other than Sacred Theology and Canon Law lead to degrees in Sacred Philosophy at the levels of Diploma (S.Phil.Dip.), Licentiate (S.Phil.L.), and Doctorate (S.Phil.D.). Specific programmes of study depend on the exact field. The Diplomate programmes and Licentiate programmes are three levels. Doctoral programmes have an additional Doctoral Term and then require a dissertation. The Doctoral Term comprises four elective courses relevant to the candidate's intended area of focus. The courses should relate to the intended dissertation topic. Upon completion of the Doctoral Term, the candidate proposes a topic of original research to his committee. Upon acceptance, the candidate undertakes the research within the scope of the project and writes a dissertation. The candidate defends the dissertation to the committee. Upon successful defense, the committee proposes the candidate to the Great Officers of the College for award of the degree of Doctor of Sacred Philosophy.



[Pontifical Georgian College Main Page]